How much car insurance do I need in Texas?

By law, Texas requires all registered vehicles to carry:

  • $30,000 bodily injury liability coverage per person
  • $60,000 bodily injury liability coverage per accident
  • $25,000 property damage liability coverage

Liability insurance protects you against the damage you cause to other parties. For example, if you rear-end another car, then the accident is likely your fault. Liability coverage will provide a payout to others harmed by your actions. It can help with things like their vehicle damage and bodily injuries.